Pusey Minister Search

November 25, 2019
Harvard Memorial Church

Harvard University President Lawrence S. Bacow has announced the start of the search for the next Pusey Minister. President Bacow will serve as chair of the search committee. Additional search committee members include: Dr. Khalil Abdur-Rashid, Tommy Amaker, Eric R. Andersen, Professor Catherine Brekus, Professor Cornell William Brooks, The Rev. John H. Finley IV, Alden Fossett ’21, Dean David N. Hempton, Professor Stephanie Paulsell, Professor Judith Singer, and Rabbi Jonah C. Steinberg.

Professor Stephanie Paulsell will continue to serve as Interim Pusey Minister as the University searches for a permanent successor. Thoughts and nominations on the search can be addressed to President Bacow by email to memorialchurchsearch@harvard.edu or in a letter addressed to President Bacow at Massachusetts Hall.


Pusey Minister Search Committee

Lawrence Bacow (chair)
President, Harvard University
Professor of Public Policy, Harvard Kennedy School of Government Senior
Fellow of the Society of Fellows, ex officio, Harvard University Faculty of Arts and Sciences

Dr. Khalil Abdur-Rashid
Muslim Chaplain, Harvard University
Adjunct Lecturer in Public Policy, Harvard Kennedy School of Government
Instructor on Muslim Studies, Harvard Divinity School

Tommy Amaker
Head Coach-Men’s Basketball, Harvard University Faculty of Arts and Sciences
Executive Fellow, Executive Education, Harvard Business School
Special Assistant to the President, Harvard University

Eric R. Andersen
Director, Senior Leadership Fellows Program and Voices in Leadership, Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health

Professor Catherine Brekus
Charles Warren Professor of the History of Religion in America, Harvard Divinity School
Chair, Committee on the Study of Religion, Harvard University Faculty of Arts and Sciences
Affiliate of the Department of History, Harvard University Faculty of Arts and Sciences

Professor Cornell William Brooks
Professor of the Practice of Public Leadership and Social Justice, Harvard Kennedy School of Government
Visiting Professor of the Practice of Prophetic Religion and Public Leadership, Harvard Divinity School

The Rev. John H. Finley IV
Co-Founder and Head of Epiphany Schools
Memorial Church Advisory Board

Alden Fossett ’21
Student, Harvard College
Member, Student Advisory Board, Memorial Church

Dean David N. Hempton
Dean of the Faculty of Divinity
John Lord O'Brian Professor of Divinity, Harvard Divinity School
Alonzo L. McDonald Family Professor of Evangelical Theological Studies, Harvard Divinity School

Professor Stephanie Paulsell
Susan Shallcross Swartz Professor of the Practice of Christian Studies, Harvard Divinity School
Interim Pusey Minister in the Memorial Church
Continuing Ed/Special Program Instructor, Harvard Divinity School

Professor Judith Singer
Senior Vice Provost for Faculty Development and Diversity, Harvard University
James Bryant Conant Professor of Education, Harvard Graduate School of Education

Rabbi Jonah C. Steinberg
Executive Director, Harvard Hillel
Harvard Chaplain

See also: Announcements, News